The Yorke Peninsula spans across 3 Local Government Areas (LGA’s) including the Copper Coast, Yorke Peninsula and District Council of Barunga West and is in the Federal seat of Grey. According to the Australian Bureau of Statistics, the estimated population of the Yorke Peninsula is approximately 29,000.

The Yorke Peninsula is a popular visitor destination for recreational fishing, camping and holidaying.

The south-western tip of the Yorke Peninsula is occupied by the famous Innes National Park.

Most of the Yorke Peninsula is considered prime agricultural land and is a major producer of grain which is exported across the world.